Skip to main content
Complex system and future
technologies in neuroscience – CSFTN’24
29-30 June 2024 Teleon Imperial Hotel (link)
Venue: St Peterburg, Russia

Denis E. Bragin

Denis E. Bragin

Lovelace Biomedical Research Institute, (Albuquerque, USA)

Photobiomodulation in the treatment of traumatic brain injury

Abstract: Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a major health problem that results in long-term brain damage and cognitive dysfunctions, leading to neurodegenerative diseases. Pharmacological therapeutics that demonstrated efficacy for TBI treatment in animal research have failed to demonstrate benefits in human TBI. Photobiomodulation (PBM) is a non-invasive, nonpharmacological method of therapy that has gained interest in preclinical and clinical scientists and has been shown to be a promising approach for the treatment of TBI.In this presentation, I’ll overview recent progress made in the research and development of PBM in TBI, including novel mechanisms and applications.

Speaker: Denis E. Bragin is an Associate Professor of Translational Neuroscience at Lovelace Biomedical Research Institute, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA. He also holds joint appointments at the Department of Neurology, University of New Mexico School of Medicine, and New York Medical College. Dr. Bragin received his M.S. in Biology/Biochemistry from the Southern Federal University (former Rostov State University), Russia, in 1999 and his Ph.D. in Biophysics in 2004 from the Voronezh State University, Russia. His research focuses on the development of novel methods of treatment and diagnostics for cerebral circulation and metabolism after brain injury, stroke, and other cerebrovascular and metabolic diseasesand their comorbidities, including hemorrhagic and septic shock and intracranial hypertension. Dr. Bragin has authored over150 peer-reviewed publicationsand book chapters and has been granted six patents for novel treatment strategies for brain and related diseases. He was elected a Fellow of the American Heart Association (Stroke Council) in 2015 and nominated as a Fellow of Critical Care Medicine in 2024.